Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc Walsh Scholars Alum Award

Nominations for the 2020 Alum Award closed on Wednesday, 30 September.

The winner will be selected by the Walsh Scholars Alum Award Committee, made up of members of the Teagasc Research Directorate Leadership Team, including the Director and Director for Research. The winner will be presented with the Award on Thursday 5th November as part of the Walsh Scholars: The Next Generation event.

About the Award

The Walsh Scholarships Programme mission is to train and develop the next generation of leaders in agri-food research, advisory and education. The Alum Award was created in 2018 to celebrate achievements of an exceptional nature by a member of the Walsh Scholars Alumni.

It is an opportunity for Teagasc to reflect on, and celebrate, the tremendous achievements of the Programme’s growing alumni network, who are working in academia, industry and policy, nationally and internationally.

The award is reserved for those alumni who have contributed significantly to their profession and service to society. As such, awardees represent the best in our alumni network – exemplary role models, who inspire all those who aspire to have an impact.


Nominators are asked to nominate alumni whose achievements align to one (or more) of the following:

  • Have achieved success in their career that is noteworthy and exceptional
  • Through prominence in their profession, bring great distinction to Teagasc and the Walsh Scholarships Programme
  • Work, whether professional or voluntary, has demonstrated a significant positive impact that has been felt by many – locally, nationally and/or internationally

Walsh Scholar Alumni are defined as anyone who has been awarded their degree (PhD, Research or Knowledge Transfer Master’s) by one of our partner universities as part of the Walsh Scholarships (formally Fellowships) Programme.

Eligibility, Nomination, Selection Criteria and Judging Process in full.

Be Inspired By Previous Award Winners