Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Forest Owner Groups Conference 2013

“Strength in Numbers” - National Forest Owner Groups Conference

Tuesday 8 October 2013 - Ballykisteen Hotel, Limerick Junction, Co Tipperary

This Conference is organised by Teagasc in conjunction with the Limerick Tipperary Woodland Owners (LTWO) and will be held at the Ballykisteen Hotel near Tipperary Town on Tuesday 8 October 2013.

This is the fifth year that the Teagasc Forestry Development Department has held such anevent. All forest owners, including those not involved in owner organisations, are invited. This conference will provide an important forum for attendees to share experiences and acquire valuable information to help in their forest enterprise.

The theme of this year’s event is “strength in numbers” and reflects one of Teagasc’s objectives in establishing forest owner groups encouraging active forest owner cooperation and participation.


The conference will be opened by Tom Hayes TD, Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine with responsibility for forestry.

The first session will focus specifically on the forest owner groups. Teagasc Forestry Development Officer Michael Somers will give a presentation on the potential role of forest owner groups while Michael Ryan, LTWO chairman, will outline the process of group thinning. Niall Morrissey will outline Leader Development Company involvement and Paul Kennedy will discuss Danone’s interest in purchasing timber from forest owner groups.

The second session will focus on issues that may affect all forest owners. John Phelan (Woodland Insurance) will discuss forest insurance. Edward Wall (Health & Safety Authority) will focus on safety in the forest, while Declan McEvoy (IFAC) will focus on forestry taxation.

The event will be chaired by Nuala Ni Fhlatharta (Teagasc); Michael Ryan (LTWO) and Donal Magner (Wood Marketing Federation / Farmers Journal). There will be networking opportunities with a number of companies and organisations.

This event is open to Forest Owner Group members and to all forest owners who have forests nearing thinning stage. The event is free and all are welcome on the day.

8.45 am  
9.45 am Welcome Address - Dr. Nuala Ní Fhlatharta, Teagasc

Keynote Address – Minister of State Mr Tom Hayes T.D. 

15 am

Session1 - ‘The Future of Forest Owner Groups’
Chairperson:  Mr John Reardon, Limerick/Tipperary Woodland Owners
10.20 am The Role of Forest Owner Groups (PDF)
Mr Michael Somers, Teagasc Forestry Development Department 
10.35 am Progressing a Producer Group (PDF)
Mr Michael Ryan, Limerick Tipperary Woodland Owners
10.45 am LEADER and Forest Owner Groups (PDF)
Mr Niall Morrissey, CEO, South Tipperary Development Company
11.00 am Doing Business with Forest Owner Groups
Mr Paul Kennedy, Danone Ltd
11.15 am Q and A
11.45 am Coffee and Networking  (Trade Stands)

15 pm

Session 2- ‘Protecting your Forest Income’
Chairperson: Mr Donal Magner, Wood Marketing Federation
12.20 pm Insuring your Forest Interests (PDF)
Mr John Phelan, Woodland Managers Ltd.
12.35 pm Safety in your Forest
Mr Edward Wall, Health and Safety Authority
12.50 pm Forestry Taxation (PDF)

Mr Declan McEvoy, IFAC Accountants

1.15 pm Q and A
1.45 pm Closing Address – Mr Donal Mullane, Teagasc Regional Manager, Tipperary
2.00 pm Further Networking

Venue details

The Conference will be held at the Ballykisteen Hotel, Limerick Junction, Co Tipperary on Tuesday 8 October 2013. Free registration is available from 8.45am to 9.45am. Proceedings will start at 9.45am sharp.