Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

2018 RDS Forest and Woodland Awards

Now Open for Entries

The 'RDS Forest and Woodland Awards' are Ireland’s national forestry awards. They recognise and reward farmers and woodland owners who are employing the principles of climate-smart agriculture on their properties including sound commercial management, environmental protection and encouragement of biodiversity.

Teagasc Farm Forestry Award Category

The Teagasc Farm Forestry Award recognises working farmers who are integrating forestry and farming for environmental, social and economic benefits.

The category aims to promote the positive sustainable contribution of forestry as an integral enterprise within the wider farming profile. It acknowledges the farmer’s role in actively managing the forest and promoting tree planting to strengthen wider farming sustainability.

Other categories:

  • Production Forestry
  • Multipurpose Forestry
  • Community Woodlands


  • The winner in each of the above categories will receive €2,000, an RDS Silver Medal and a perpetual trophy.
  • The runner-up in each category will receive €1,000 and a special Certificate of Merit.
  • All woodland owners and managers are encouraged to enter the Awards as all woodlands, large or small, are of merit.


Application forms are available on the RDS website: www.rds.ie/forestry or via email from forestry@rds.ie. Closing date for entries is Friday 13 July 2018

If you require any additional information, please contact the RDS Agriculture Foundation Department directly on 01 240 7215 or your local Teagasc Forestry Staff