Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Grassland Farmer of the Year 2019

The Grassland Farmer of the Year competition for 2019 has been launched. This competition will recognise and acknowledge those farmers who are achieving high levels of grass utilisation in a sustainable manner. 


Closing date extended to Friday August 16th 

The competition is being run as part of the Teagasc Grass10 grassland campaign. The focus of Grass 10 is on increasing the quantity of grass utilised on livestock farms with the objective of achieving 10 tonnes grass dry matter per hectare per annum utilised, with 10 grazings per paddock per year


The competition has seven categories with an overall prize fund of €30,000. Enterprise awards include Dairy, Sheep, Beef Suckling and non-suckling categories. Other categories include Disadvantaged Land winner, Sustainable Farming winner and a Young Farmer (under 30 years) category winner. The young farmer category can include entrants that are farm managers or farming in a collaborative arrangement. Each category winner will receive €3,500. The overall winner will be selected from the seven category winners and will receive an additional €2,500. There will be additional grassland merit award winners. 

Competition Focus

Applicants should have established the level of grass production on their farm. A knowledge of farm soil fertility is essential. The sustainability of the grassbased system of production will be assessed. The necessary grazing infrastructure on each farm will also be a focus for this competition.

Terms and Conditions of the Competition 2019

  • The competition is open to all livestock farmers in the Republic of Ireland.
  • Preliminary judging will be based on the information submitted on the application form and information from Teagasc, Bord Bia & Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine systems.
  • Final judging will involve a panel of judges visiting farms.
  • In the event of winning, the winning farmers are obliged to allow reasonable media coverage, to participate in the awards ceremony, host an Open Day on their farm to demonstrate the high levels of grass production and utilisation achieved in a suitable manner, and participate in relevant promotional activity.
  • The winners of the competition from previous years may not enter the competition in 2019.

Apply Now