Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Grassland Farmer of the Year Competition 2020

Entry to the 2020 competition is now closed

The Grassland Farmer of the Year competition will recognise those farmers who are achieving high levels of grass utilisation in a sustainable manner. Irish agriculture faces serious challenges in trying to meet Greenhouse Gas and Ammonia emissions targets. Improved Nutrient Management and the use of clover are now more important than ever. The sustainability of our livestock production must improve. Some farmers have to operate with difficult land and the competition will also recognise this. Awards will also be made to those farmers who demonstrate excellence in specific areas of grassland on their farm.

Prize Winners

There will be an overall award, and many other awards. The competition has an overall prize fund of €30,000.

Awards: Seven category winners will be selected.

Enterprise awards include:

  • Dairy
  • Sheep
  • Beef - Suckling and non-suckling categories.

Other categories include:

  • Disadvantaged Land winner
  • Sustainable Farming winner
  • Young Farmer (under 30 years)*

*The young farmer category can include entrants that are farm managers or farming in a collaborative arrangement.

Each category winner will receive €3,500. The overall winner will be selected from the seven category winners and will receive an additional €2,500

There will be additional grassland merit award winners.