Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Level 6 Specific Purpose Certificate in Farm Administration (Green Cert)

Duration 1 year
Code 6S3006
Location Ballyhaise, Clonakilty, Gurteen, Kildalton, Mountbellew, Pallaskenry

Awarding Body: QQI 
Progression: May progress to a Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture Programme 
Location: Agricultural Colleges and Teagasc Regional Education Centres 
Application: Apply Online or Teagasc Regional Education Centre 

Entry Requirements and Application Procedures

Students who have completed the Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture, or equivalent course, are eligible to apply. Apply directly to a college or Teagasc Regional Education Centre.

Course Aims

This course, accredited by QQI, is suitable for people who wish to meet the minimum educational qualification requirement for Stamp Duty Exemption on the transfer of land. It does not provide a progression opportunity for those wishing to complete a third level agricultural course.


This course is offered at six agricultural colleges - Ballyhaise, Clonakilty, Gurteen, Kildalton, Mountbellew and Salesian Agricultural College, Pallaskenry. It is also provided at Teagasc Regional Education Centres subject to resources and demand.

Course Structure and Content

The course extends over 12 months and is delivered by a combination of on-farm practical learning course work delivered on benchmarking farms, and block release course work at the college amounting to four weeks.
During the course, students operate their home farm to a farm development plan in conjunction with the Teagasc tutors. They must also carry out projects on their home farm.

On successful completion of the Teagasc Green Cert, students are awarded the QQI Level 6 Specific Purpose Certificate in Farm Administration. This course meets the training requirement for Stamp Duty Exemption and DAFM Schemes.


Students may apply for a place on an Advanced Certificate in Agriculture Programme.


Further Education Agricultural Courses are under review and substantial changes may be made in 2017.