Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture

Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture Programme  

Entry Requirements: Applicants must be 17 years old or over on 1st January following entry to Level 5 and ideally should have completed the senior cycle of second level education. 

Further information on this programme is available from Kildalton College and the College of Amenity Horticulture, Botanic Gardens.  

Duration: The Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture is one year in duration.  

Qualifications: These programmes are validated by QQI and successful completion leads to:

  • Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture Award (5M2586) 

Application Process: Applications are made online. 

 Apply Online Now

Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture Programme - Sample Content (* Choice of module will be at the discretion of the college / centre)

QQI Code Title Level Credits
5N1433 Work Practice 5 15
5N2546 Plant Protection 5 15
5N2528 Plant Science 5 10
5N2527 Plant Identification and Use 5 10
5N2530 Soil Science and Growing Media 5 10
  Personal Development module* 5 15
  Elective modules* 5 45


Progression: Students that complete the Level 5 in Horticulture have the option to progress to a Level 6 Advanced Certificate (further education) in Horticulture or an appropriate higher education apprenticeship.

There are also opportunities to progress to higher education programmes through the Higher Education Links Scheme.

There are various job opportunities in the business and service sectors of the horticultural industry for skilled graduates, as technicians, supervisors or managers.