Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Grass10 Autumn Closing Up for Spring Grass Farm Walks

Grow More – Graze More – Earn More!!

The most important task any farmer will undertake over the next 2 months is to ensure that their farm is closed off properly  in order to ensure an adequate supply of grass early next spring. 

Many farmers do not realise that the grazing season actually begins in the autumn and that autumn management of grazed grass is the primary factor influencing the supply of grass available in spring on any farm.

Since the ‘Closing up of the farm’ is so important to the profitability of livestock farming, we have organised on-farm events as part of the Grass10 campaign that will run nationwide throughout early October.  These farm walks will focus on helping you ensure your grass fields are closed off right to guarantee a supply of grass next spring on your farm.

All are welcome to attend. 

The Grass10 campaign is kindly supported by:

AIB, FBD Insurance, Grassland Agro, Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine and the Irish Farmers Journal. 

DateTimeLocation
Dairy Farm Events
Mon 2 Oct 11am Noel Hurley, Ballyshonack, Kildorrery, Co. Cork
Tues 3 Oct 11am Diarmuid Cremin, Gneveeguilla, Rathmore, Co Kerry
Tues 3 Oct 11am Martin Buckley, Ardragh, Scart, Bantry, Co. Cork
Thurs 5 Oct 11am Larry Hannon, Fullerscourt, Ballitore, Co. Kildare
Thurs 5 Oct 11am Seamus Laffan, Knockanea, Boher, Co Limerick
Fri 6 Oct 11am Mark Clune, Drominanov, Feakle, Co Clare
Fri 6 Oct 11am Mal Hickey, Brownstown, Navan, Co. Meath
Wed 11 Oct 11am Mairead & Richard King – Lough Park, Castlepollard, Co. Westmeath
Fri 13 Oct 11am Shinagh Dairy Farm, Shinagh, Bandon, Co. Cork
Thurs 19 Oct 11am A & John Casey, Castleshannon, Causeway, Co Kerry
Beef Farm Events
Tues 3 Oct 1pm Raymond, Dwayne and Gilbert Stanley, Brittas Castle, Thurles, Co. Tipperary
Wed 4 Oct 11am Calf to Beef Unit, Teagasc Johnstown Castle, Co. Wexford
Thurs 5 Oct 3pm Tommy Holmes, Tullysleeve, Ballina, Co. Mayo
Tues 10 Oct 1pm Joe Healy, Dressogue, Athboy, Co. Meath
Tues 10 Oct 11am Paddy Galvin, Ballinadee, Bandon, Co. Cork
Sheep Farm Events
Tues 17 Oct 2pm Martin & Lisa Alexander, Ballinacor Cross Roads, Killygordon, Co. Donegal
Thurs 19 Oct 2pm John Bell, Monaghanstown, Castletown Geoghegan, Co Westmeath
Fri 20 Oct 2pm John Brady, Tatestown, Navan, Co Meath
Tues 24 Oct 2pm John Pringle, Killacloran, Aughrim, Co Wicklow
Wed 25 Oct 2pm John Large, Gortnahoe, Thurles, Co. Tipperary
Tues 31 Oct 2pm Michael Doyle, Glenranny, Boolavogue, Ferns, Enniscorthy, Co.Wexford