Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc/FBD Student of the Year Awards 2019 - We have a winner!

Enda Farrell of Co. Longford, is the 2019 Teagasc/FBD Student of the Year. The announcement was made at an online virtual awards ceremony on Monday. The Minister for Agriculture, Food and Marine, Charlie McConalogue TD, congratulated Enda Farrell and all finalists, wishing them well in their careers

And the Winner is.... Enda Farrell

Enda Farrell completed the Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agricultural (Dairy Herd Management) in Teagasc Ballyhaise College and returned to a family farm partnership and established a dairy herd in 2020. He found the course to be highly beneficial, particularly herd performance measurement, financial management and the need for work life balance. Through the course, he has become more keenly aware of sustainable farming approaches such as hedgerow and waterway management, protected urea, low emission slurry spreading and on-farm energy saving measures.

View Enda Farrell here on his home farm

First runner up award

The first runner up award went to Michael Kennedy, from County Limerick. Michael completed a Level 6 Specific Purpose Certificate in Farming. He originally worked off farm, and having expanded the dairy herd made the decision to go full-time farming.

View Michael Kennedy here on his home farm

Second runner up award

The second runner up award went to Máire Keohane from County Cork. Máire completed the Level 6 Advanced Dairy Herd Management programme in Teagasc Clonakilty. Máire found the advanced dairy programme to be very rewarding and enrolled in the Teagasc Professional Dairy Diploma in Dairy Farm Management.

View Máire Keohane here on her home farm 

The other finalists in the competition were:

  • Andrew Naughton, Co Clare 
  • David Crowe, Co Clare 
  • Jack Kingston, Co Kildare 
  • John O'Mahony, Co Cork
  • Mark Drohan, Co Waterford
  • Michael Cunnane, Co Mayo 
  • Michael Lavin, Co Sligo
  • Patrick Prior, Co Leitrim       
  • Sarah Kearney, Co Galway
  • Sean Quinlan, Co Tipperary
  • Steven Ryan, Co Galway

The awards ceremony took place on Monday 16th November at 7pm, hosted by Tony Pettit, Teagasc Head of Education. The awards, which are sponsored by FBD, were made to the top graduates of Teagasc Level 6 agricultural training programmes in 2019. FBD has been involved with Teagasc in the Teagasc/FBD Student of the Year Awards for over 30 years. 

To watch the awards ceremony or to learn more about the winner and the other finalists visit: https://www.teagasc.ie/education/going-to-college/student-of-the-year/