Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

'Expand Your Horizons' evening seminars

Rural Information Seminar and Networking Events

Teagasc and the National Rural Network (NRN) are jointly organising an innovative series of evening seminars, Expand Your Horizons 2017, running from the end of January to March. The purpose of the seminars is to provide information on the range of agencies, services and funding and training opportunities available in rural Ireland.

All seminars run from 8:00pm to 10:00pm

DateLocationVenueArea Contact
Mon 23 Jan Waterford Park Hotel, Dungarvan john.moloney@teagasc.ie
Wed 25 Jan West Cork The Parkway Hotel, Dunmanway billy.kelleher@teagasc.ie
Tue 31 Jan Cork East Mallow GAA Sport Centre, Carrigoon, Mallow gerard.macmahon@teagasc.ie
Wed 01 Feb Galway Peacockes Hotel, Maam Cross, Connemara david.colbourne@teagasc.ie
Thurs 02 Feb Clare Auburn Lodge Hotel, Gort Rd, Ennis david.colbourne@teagasc.ie
Mon 06 Feb Kerry Killarney Heights Hotel, Killarney john.horgan@teagasc.ie
Tue 07 Feb Limerick Woodlands Hotel, Adare john.horgan@teagasc.ie
Mon 13 Feb Laois Heritage Hotel, Portlaoise larry.oloughlin@teagasc.ie
Tue 14 Feb Kildare Osprey Hotel, Naas larry.oloughlin@teagasc.ie
Wed 15 Feb Meath Ardboyne Hotel, Navan larry.oloughlin@teagasc.ie
Thurs 16 Feb Dublin City North Hotel, Dublin larry.oloughlin@teagasc.ie
Mon 20 Feb Louth Teagasc Office, Dundalk larry.oloughlin@teagasc.ie
Wed 22 Feb Mayo Balla Resource Centre, Balla peter.leonard@teagasc.ie
Wed 22 Feb Roscommon Abbey Hotel, Roscommon tom.kellegher@teagasc.ie
Thurs 23 Feb Longford Longford Arms Hotel tom.kellegher@teagasc.ie
Mon 27 Feb Sligo Sligo Park Hotel ben.wilkinson@teagasc.ie
Tue 28 Feb Leitrim Bush Hotel, Carrick on Shannon ben.wilkinson@teagasc.ie
Wed 01 Mar Donegal Villa Rose Hotel, Ballybofey ben.wilkinson@teagasc.ie
Thurs 02 Mar Westmeath Mullingar Park Hotel con.feighery@teagasc.ie
Mon 06 Mar Tipperary Anner Hotel, Thurles donal.mullane@teagasc.ie
Tue 07 Mar Offaly Tullamore Court Hotel con.feighery@teagasc.ie
Wed 08 Mar Cavan Kilmore Hotel, Cavan con.feighery@teagasc.ie
Thurs 09 Mar Donegal Inishowen Gateway Hotel, Buncrana ben.wilkinson@teagasc.ie
Thurs 09 Mar Monaghan Four Seasons Hotel, Monaghan con.feighery@teagasc.ie
Mon 13 Mar Wexford Riverside Hotel, Enniscorthy siobhan.kavanagh@teagasc.ie
Tue 14 Mar Wicklow Lawless Hotel, Aughrim siobhan.kavanagh@teagasc.ie
Wed 15 Mar Carlow Dolmin Hotel, Carlow siobhan.kavanagh@teagasc.ie
Wed 22 Mar Kilkenny Springhill Court Hotel, Kilkenny john.moloney@teagasc.ie

The Expand Your Horizons events will provide relevant information to rural dwellers who wish to explore new possibilities for improved economic and social development for their own lives and for the betterment of their communities.

Teagasc and the NRN believe that a diverse and energetic farming industry will provide a sustainable rural environment for future generations. Farmers want to do much more than survive. They want to thrive.

Farm resilience is about equipping the Irish farm family to absorb and recover from shocks and stresses to their agricultural production and livelihoods. By expanding your horizons you will broaden your outlook on life and its possibilities.

Have you considered setting up a tourism or food business? Are you aware of all the available benefits and supports for farm families? Would you be interested in learning a new skill? If you, or members of your family are looking to ‘Expand your Horizons’, explore on or off- farm business possibilities, re-train or up-skill for a new form of employment, or explore what funding is available via the LEADER Programme or Rural Development Programme, join Teagasc and the NRN as they explore what your area has to offer you, as you ‘Expand your Horizons’.

Rural agencies, who provide services such as up-skilling, social and economic development and education provision, will provide information on their services and funding opportunities. Participating stakeholder agencies including Local Action Groups, Local Enterprise Offices, Citizens Information, Mental Health Ireland, Money and Advice Bureaus, Education and Training Boards, Fáilte Ireland and Inland Fisheries Ireland, will be on hand to provide a flavour of the opportunities they offer and the role they play in improving the viability of rural areas.

For more information about the seminars, contact Barry Caslin barry.caslin@teagasc.ie or James Claffey james@nationalruralnetwork.ie