Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc Walsh Fellowship - 25th Anniversary Seminar

Event Time 10.00
Venue EPA Johnstown Castle, Wexford

MC: Sharon Ni Bheolain, RTE 



10.00 – 10.15

Welcome and introduction to Walsh Fellowships Programme

Prof. Gerry Boyle, Director of Teagasc   

10.15 – 11.00

Panel discussion with alumni sharing their experiences of the Walsh Fellowships Programme

Andrew Fisher, Director Animal Welfare Science Centre, University of Melbourne

Dr Gillian Gardiner, Lecturer, Waterford Institute of Technology

Dr Laurence Shalloo, Research Officer, Teagasc

Dr Jonathan Lane, Research Programme Manager, Global Research and Technology Centre at H&H Group

11.00 – 11.30

Tea/coffee – networking

Poster session

11.30 – 1.00

Presentations by the Regional Walsh Fellowships winners

(10 mins plus 5 mins Q&A)

Animal and Grassland Research and Innovation Programme

Food Programme

Crops Environment and Land Use Programme

Rural Economy and Development Programme

Knowledge Transfer


Lunch – networking and poster session

 1.45 - 2.00

 Presentation of Walsh Fellowship Awards 2018

2.00 – 3.00

Panel discussion on the future of PhD training and future employment role of PhDs

Ms Patricia Reilly, Deputy Head of Cabinet, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, EU Commission

Professor Gerry Boyle, Director of Teagasc

Professor Alan Kelly, Professor of Food Science, University College Cork

Dr Colette Desmond, Supplier Quality Manager for Ireland, Danone

Mr Peter Brown, Director, Irish Research Council

Ms Shikha Ojha , Walsh Fellow , Teagasc Ashtown

3.00 – 3.15

Official launch of Teagasc Walsh Fellowships Alumni Association and announcement of 2018 Alum of the Year.

Presentation of award by Mr. Liam Herlihy, Chairman of Teagasc


Unveiling of plaque to commemorate the late Dr Tom Walsh, first Director of An Foras Taluntais and ACOT