Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

International Award for Teagasc and UCC Scientists

Teagasc Director, Professor Gerry Boyle congratulates Teagasc researchers Dr Catherine Stanton and Professor Paul Ross of Moorepark, and Professors Colin Hill and Gerald Fitzgerald of the Microbiology Department, UCC on being awarded the International Dairy Federation’s Elie Metchnikoff Prize in Microbiology for 2010.

The Metchnikoff Prize is named in honour of the recipient of the 1908 Nobel Prize, and recognises outstanding scientific discoveries in the fields of microbiology, biotechnology, nutrition and health with regard to fermented milks and to promote further research and innovation in the dairy industry. The four Irish scientists received the award in recognition of their contribution to the study of lactic acid bacteria.

The 2010 Elie Metchnikoff Prize in Microbiology was presented at an award ceremony at the IDF Symposia on Science and Technology of Fermented Milk and on Microstructure of Dairy Products in Tromsö, Norway yesterday, Wednesday, 9 June.

Speaking today, Professor Gerry Boyle said this award is richly deserved by Catherine, Paul, Colin and Ger for their outstanding research work over many years on lactic acid bacteria. “Understanding how these bacteria work is so important in our daily lives as they are used in the production of foods such as cheese and yoghurts, but they are also found in the gut and have an influence on our health. Their research has made an extremely valuable contribution to the industry.”

The close collaboration between researchers in Teagasc and UCC was recently put on a formal basis with agreement on a UCC/Teagasc Strategic Alliance in Food Research.