Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

New Member Appointed to Teagasc Authority

Mr Tommy Cooke has been appointed to the Teagasc Authority by the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney TD and attended his first meeting of the Authority on Wednesday, 5 October.

Tommy Cooke is a dairy and beef farmer from Renaghmore, Grange, Barna, Thurles, County Tipperary. He is a member of the national council of ICMSA and is a former chairman of the ICMSA’s dairy and rural development committees. He is chairman and founding member of the Irish Wind Farmers Cooperative Society Ltd. known as Meitheal na Gaoithe and is also chairman of Barrow Nore Suir Rural Development Ltd. He is also active in and community organisations and in the renewable energy sector. He replaces Joe Fitzgerald on the Authority.

Speaking at the Authority meeting, Teagasc Chairman, Dr Noel Cawley welcomed Tommy Cooke to the board saying that he looked forward to working with him as the Authority carries out its business in the coming years.

Dr Cawley acknowledged the valuable contributions made by Joe Fitzgerald to Teagasc during his two terms on the board. On behalf of the board he thanked Joe for his long standing contribution, saying he always had a significant point of view and always made important contributions to the business of the authority