Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc Walsh Fellowship Seminar

The 17th annual Teagasc Walsh Fellowship Seminar 2012 took place in the RDS, Dublin, today, Thursday, 22 November. Eighteen young researchers presented the results of their research, with a further 21 postgraduate students publishing posters.

The overall winner and Walsh Fellow of the year was Noeleen McDonald for her paper on ‘Utilizing the soils nitrogen supply potential for efficient grass production’. She was presented with the RDS medal.

Other winners were:
• Best presentation on Food, Ciara McDonnell, Teagasc Food Programme, Ashtown and UCD
• Best 3 minute presentation, Noelle O’ Riordan, Teagasc Food programme, Moorepark, and NUI Galway
• Best poster, Nora O Shea, Teagasc Food Programme, Ashtown, and UCC

Dr Frank O Mara, Director of Research, Teagasc said: “The Walsh Fellowships Programme is a critically important component of Teagasc’s research and Knowledge Transfer programmes. Teagasc currently has over 160 Walsh Fellows, which makes the programme a significant contributor to postgraduate education in Ireland. The majority of these are registered for PhDs. All the Irish universities and some of the Institutes of Technology are involved in the programme. At the moment, 27 are registered in universities in Northern Ireland and the UK, and a further nine in other international universities.”

This year saw the first full year of the new M.Agr.Sc Innovation Support Programme, which is being run in association with University College Dublin. This programme aims to equip graduates with the skills and knowledge to be effective in building the capacity of farmers to adopt new practices and technologies.
The Walsh Fellowship Programme has proved to be effective in meeting the training needs of young graduates and directing them into high-grade employment in industry, academia and the wider public sector.

Related Downloads