Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Professor Paul Ross wins Teagasc Gold Medal

The 2011 winner of the Teagasc Gold Medal is Professor Paul Ross, head of the Food Research programme. The Teagasc Gold Medal is awarded on an annual basis to a serving staff member who has made an outstanding contribution to the organisation and to the agri-food sector.

The award is presented to Professor Ross in recognition of his achievements during his career in Teagasc since joining the organisation in 1993. In July 2009 he took over as Head of the Teagasc Food Research programme, responsible for the research activities at Moorepark and Ashtown locations.

He has authored over 300 peer reviewed scientific publications to date, in addition to numerous book chapters, and other articles.  The quality of his research has elevated the scientific reputation of the research programme, and he has developed significant national and international collaborations and secured significant funding for the research programme. He has developed strong collaborative links with University College Cork, leading to the establishment of the Teagasc/UCC Strategic Alliance in Food Research.

Presenting the Teagasc Gold Medal, Chairman Dr Noel Cawley described Professor Ross as an outstanding scientist, producing research of international standing that can match any in the world.  

Accepting the Medal, Professor Ross said that he was honoured and humbled to receive this recognition from the organisation he works in. He thanked his colleagues in Teagasc, Walsh Fellows and scientists in the wider research community for their efforts which have helped him in his research endeavours over the years.    

Professor Ross has received many awards previously, including Alimentary Pharmabiotic Centre Scientist of the Year (2005), The William C Haines dairy science award by California dairy research foundation (2007), the Enterprise Ireland Lifescience & Food Commercialisation Award (2008) The Elie, Metchknoff Award (2010), jointly with Catherine Stanton (Teagasc), Colin Hill (UCC) and Gerald Fitzgerald (UCC). Paul received a D.Sc. from National University of Ireland (2009) in recognition of his published work and was admitted as a member to the Royal Irish Academy in Science (2010) in recognition of his academic achievements.

The Teagasc Gold Medal is formal recognition and reward for advancing the work of Teagasc and is aimed at promoting excellence amongst staff and ensures that high quality performance is encouraged. Previous winners of the Teagasc Gold Medal are Nuala King, Dr Paul Cusack and Prof Liam Donnelly.

Pictured at the presentation of the Teagasc Gold Medal are;

(l to R) Prof Gerry Boyle, Teagasc Director, Prof Paul Ross, gold medal winner

and Dr Noel Cawley, Teagasc Chairman.