Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Appointment to Teagasc Authority

The Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney TD has reappointed Dr Noel Cawley as Chairman of the Teagasc Authority for a second five-year term. Dr Cawley is a former Chief Executive of the Irish Dairy Board.

The Minister has also reappointed Padraig Gibbons and appointed two new members, Alan Jagoe and Professor Gerald Fitzgerald to the Teagasc Authority for five year terms.

Alan Jagoe from Atlantic View, Ballindeasig, Nohoval, Co. Cork is a dairy farmer and former President of Macra na Feirme. He farms in partnership with his father and brother. Dr Cawley acknowledged the contribution of Frank O Mahony, the previous Macra na Feirme nominee on the authority and thanked him for his valuable input to Teagasc as an authority member during his term.

Professor Gerald Fitzgerald is Head of the School of Microbiology at University College Cork. His research activity has been a major contributor to the development of the multidisciplinary Food and Health programme in UCC.

Padraig Gibbons is a dairy farmer in County Mayo and chairman of Aurivo Co-operative Society. Mr Gibbons was nominated by ICOS.

Speaking at a meeting of the Teagasc authority in Dublin today, Wednesday, 2 October, Teagasc Chairman, Dr Noel Cawley said that he was honoured to be reappointed by the Minister. He said he looked forward to working with his colleagues on the Authority and with Teagasc management to deliver the important work programmes in research, advisory and education in Teagasc over the next five years.

Teagasc Director Professor Gerry Boyle welcomed the appointments saying that he looked forward to continuing his excellent working relationship with Dr Cawley.

New Board Members from left to right, Dr Noel Cawley,
Alan Jagoe and Professor Gerald Fitzgerald