Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc Appoints Head of Education

Teagasc has appointed Tony Pettit as Head of its Education programme. The appointment was made by the Teagasc Authority at its meeting today, Wednesday, 9 January. He takes over from Paddy Browne who was appointed Head of Teagasc’s Crops, Environment and Land Use Programme in May 2012.

Tony Pettit will lead the delivery of the Education programme nationally through the four Teagasc owned colleges, its three associated private colleges and the twelve Teagasc Regional Education Centres.

Teagasc is the leading education provider for the land based sector. In addition to its further education provision Teagasc has a major involvement in higher education delivery through seven Institutes of Technology partners and its two University partners. In 2012 over 1,900 learners enrolled in Teagasc further education and Teagasc linked higher education programmes and over 3,600 learners are currently participating in Teagasc education programmes. In addition Teagasc also provides a comprehensive suite of short courses for around 6,000 adult farmers and industry personnel.

A native of County Roscommon, Tony Pettit has held a number of senior education posts in Teagasc including Head of Curriculum Development and Head of Kildalton College. He began his career as an Adviser with Teagasc before going on to be a Beef Specialist and to work as a Specialist in Food Assurance.

He is a graduate of University College Dublin with a BAgrSc and went on to receive a MAgrSc (Hons). In 2001 he was awarded a Masters in Business Studies (Management of Change) from Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT). He is a former Council member of FETAC and a former President of the Irish Grassland Association.

Teagasc Director Professor Gerry Boyle congratulated Tony Pettit on his appointment saying: “The education programme is one of the priority areas for Teagasc, equipping the next generation of farmers with the knowledge and skills to grow and develop the agriculture, horticulture, forestry and food sectors.”