Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

New Staff Representative Appointed to Teagasc Authority

Joseph Larkin has been appointed to the Teagasc Authority for a five-year term by the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney TD. Joe fills the position on the Teagasc authority vacated by Marie Christie who completed a five-year term in August of this year. Joseph is the staff representative on the Authority and attended his first meeting of the Teagasc board today, Wednesday, 5 November in the Teagasc advisory office in Kilmallock, County Limerick.

Joseph Larkin is an Experimental Research Officer at the Teagasc Animal and Bioscience Research Department, Grange, Co. Meath. He started his career in the Research Directorate of Teagasc’s predecessor AFT in 1977, and during his career has worked in the Teagasc centres in Kinsealy, Ashtown and Grange. He holds a diploma in Applied Science from GMIT, is a Graduate Member of the Society of Biology (UK), and a Chartered Biologist. He has 25 years experience representing staff at local and national level. A native of Castleffrench, Ballinamore Bridge, Co. Galway, Joseph now lives in Clondoogan, Summerhill, County Meath.

At the Authority meeting today, Chairman of Teagasc, Dr Noel Cawley welcomed Joseph Larkin and congratulated him on his appointment. “Joseph has a long and distinguished career in Teagasc and this wealth of information and experience will be an addition to the board. His participation in the Teagasc National Partnership Group and his participation in internal efficiency reviews, give him a valuable insight into the broad range of activities that Teagasc deliver in education, advisory and research. I look forward to working closely with over the coming years."

The Teagasc chairman paid tribute to Marie Christie for her commitment and dedication during her five-year term on the Teagasc Authority. He said: "Marie’s contributions over the last five years, while the organisation agreed and implemented three Change Programmes to adapt to the changed economic situation were invaluable. Her practical and constructive approach was helpful and her contribution as a member of the Teagasc board was greatly appreciated.”

Tom Tynan has resigned his position on the Teagasc Authority from 31st October this year. This follows his appointment to the Cabinet of EU Agricultural Commissioner Phil Hogan. Tom Tynan has served on the Teagasc Authority since January of 2013.

At today’s meeting Teagasc Chairman Dr Noel Cawley thanked Tom Tynan for his very valuable input to the organisation during the past two years and in particular for his chairmanship of the Audit Committee. “Tom’s knowledge, experience and contributions at Board meetings will be missed and on behalf of myself and the rest of the Authority members I would like to congratulate you on your recent appointment.”

Joe Larkin, new staff representative on Teagasc Authority