Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Christy Watson wins Teagasc Gold Medal

The 2014 winner of the Teagasc Gold Medal is Christy Watson, Drystock Business and Technology Adviser in the Laois, Kildare, Meath, Louth, Dublin advisory region. The Teagasc Gold Medal is awarded on an annual basis to a serving staff member who has made an outstanding contribution to the organisation and to the agri-food sector.

The award was presented to Christy Watson in recognition of his outstanding leadership in influencing his farmer clients, students and colleagues.

The presentation of the Gold Medal Award was made at a meeting of the Teagasc Authority today, Chairman Dr Noel Cawley congratulated Christy Watson, saying that he has earned the utmost respect from his farmer clients and colleagues for his commitment to his advisory work and the interest he has shown in promoting the highest standards as an adviser and in the farming industry.

Dr Cawley said: “Christy’s performance has been exceptional as a Business and Technology adviser, working with over 200 drystock farmer clients and through his contribution to open days, farm walks, seminars, and national and international conferences. He has supported the discussion group programme for farmers and the BETTER Farm Beef Programme. With his help, many of his clients have hosted visiting groups, presenting an important shop window for Irish family farm based food production.

A native of Curraghboy, County Roscommon, Christy Watson graduated with a B.Agr Sc. from University College Dublin before completing a Master in Agricultural Science in UCD. He joined ACOT, (Teagasc’s predecessor) in 1985 and worked initially as an agricultural adviser in counties Leitrim and Wicklow. He also worked in the Teagasc Kildalton agricultural College. He has been based in the Naas office in County Kildare since 1995. He is currently participating in the Leadership Development Programme in the IMI.
The Teagasc Gold Medal is formal recognition and reward for advancing the work of Teagasc and is aimed at promoting excellence amongst staff and ensures that high quality performance is encouraged. Previous winners of the Teagasc Gold Medal are: Dr Paul Cusack, Professor Liam Donnelly, Nuala King, Professor Paul Ross, Dr Lance O’Brien, and Professor Tim Guinea.