Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

The Irish Forestry Awards are back and bigger than ever!

The 30th RDS-Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards are now accepting entries. With a prize fund of €15,000 the awards are bigger than ever before.


RDS Agriculture Chairman, Mr Tom Kirley said: “From the magnificent 400 hectares of woodland at Shanes Castle Estate in Co. Antrim, to the innovative 10 hectare planation of John O’Connell in Co. Limerick, the awards reveal inspiring examples of the benefits and diversity of forestry in Ireland. With the closing date of July 14 fast approaching the RDS is calling on farmers, landowners and community groups to enter now for their chance to share in the €15,000 prize fund.”

The awards continue to grow and evolve with the Teagasc Farm Forestry Award category being introduced for 2017; it aims to promote the sustainable use of land that incorporates both farming and forestry.

Teagasc Director, Professor Gerry Boyle said: “Teagasc is delighted to be associated with the RDS-Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards and the opportunities they provide for farm forest owners. The Teagasc-sponsored award provides recognition for farmers who have integrated forestry as a complementary enterprise into their holding. Active participation in the management of this forest resource will result in economic, environmental, social and practical benefits, not least the potential for mitigation of greenhouse gas. “ 

Everyone with woodland is encouraged to enter as all woodlands, large or small, are of merit. Those involved in the forestry sector are urged to nominate their friends and neighbours if they think they are worthy candidates. Application forms are available at www.rds.ie/forestry, by contacting forestry@rds.ie or 01 240 7215. 



For further information, please contact:

Paul Farrelly

RDS Agriculture Programme Manager

01 240 7215


Diarmuid Hanifin

RDS Communications Manager

01 240 7211



Notes for the Editor 

The RDS-Forest Service Awards are Ireland’s National forestry awards and are divided into four main categories which highlight, celebrate, and reward those who are at the forefront of the economic, environmental and community development of the forestry sector in Ireland.

Production Forestry

The Production Forestry Category is divided into two sections; Under 15 Hectares and Over 15 Hectares, and is open to Farmers and landowners using sound silvicultural management on their farms. This award aims to recognise excellence in the management of production forestry. 

While the focus is on the management of the area for wood production, judges will also take into account diversity of species, particularly the presence of native trees such as Ash, Birch, Oak, Willow, etc., to ensure greater efficiency and quality in the development of the sector.

Multipurpose Forestry

The Multipurpose Forestry category is open to individuals and organisations that are expanding or developing existing or new forest habitats through natural and environmentally sensitive methods. Judges will take into account the planning and management of the area, ecological awareness, social benefit, silviculture methods, control of grazing animals and invasive species, as well as sensitive felling and thinning.

Teagasc Farm Forestry Award

The RDS-Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards are delighted to announce a new award category for 2017 sponsored by Teagasc, the agriculture and food development authority. The Teagasc Farm Forestry Award is a new category introduced for 2017 that aims to promote the sustainable use of land that incorporates both farming and forestry.

This category aims to promote the positive contribution that forestry can bring to traditional farming practices and also increase the number of trees that are being planted to help minimise agricultural greenhouse gas emissions.

Community Woodlands

The Community Woodland Award is designed to encourage and reward projects involving community woodlands and forests which have been established and managed in a sustainable way that is beneficial to the landscape, the local people, ecological biodiversity and the economy. This Award is open to woodland owners or managers from the public and voluntary sectors.


  • The winner in each of the above categories will receive €2,000, an RDS Silver Medal and a perpetual trophy
  • The runner-up in each category will receive €1,000 and a special Certificate of Merit