Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc well represented at Geographical Society of Ireland Doctoral Awards

Two of the three finalists for this year’s Geographical Society of Ireland Doctoral Awards, Dr Jack McCarthy, a former Teagasc Walsh Scholar, and Dr Shane Conway, collaborated extensively with Teagasc in the development of their research. They will present their research to the Geographical Society of Ireland (GSI) today, Wednesday, 16 December to compete for the overall prize.

Teagasc well represented at Geographical Society of Ireland Doctoral Awards

Dr McCarthy’s PhD explored collaboration and co-operation amongst farmers and rural policy stakeholders involved in the EIP-AGRI initiative. Dr David Meredith of Teagasc’s Rural Economy and Development Programme and Dr Christine Bonnin of UCD’s School of Geography supervised the research.

Dr Conway’s doctoral research focused on generational renewal in Irish farming and was completed under the guidance of Dr John McDonagh and Dr Maura Farrell at the Rural Studies Unit of NUI Galway. As part of this research, Dr Conway collaborated with Teagasc’s “Transferring the Family Farm” clinics and the Land Mobility Farm Survey.

Dr David Meredith, Senior Research Officer with Teagasc and adjunct fellow at UCD’s School of Geography said: “These contributions to knowledge demonstrates the important role that human geography can play in expanding our understandings of the challenges and opportunities facing farmers, farm households and rural communities. Teagasc continues to work with leading geography departments to advance this line of research”.