Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc announce Peter Doyle as Walsh Scholar of the Year 2021

Peter Doyle is the Teagasc Walsh Scholar Gold Medal winner for 2021. Peter was awarded the medal by Professor Frank O’Mara, Director of Research at Teagasc, at a special online ceremony which took place on Friday, 9th July, hosted by broadcaster Jonathan McCrea.

Peter is a Teagasc Walsh Scholar based at the Teagasc Animal and Grassland Research Centre at Grange, Co. Meath. He is investigating the production and quality attributes of grass-fed beef. Peter is a PhD candidate registered with University College Dublin and funded by Teagasc.


Speaking about his experiences with The Teagasc Walsh Scholarship Programme, Peter said; “The programme has provided me with great opportunities and experiences examining many aspects within the beef industry. The best advice that I can give to potential scholars, is to do a research topic that you are truly passionate about”.

There are currently 35 PhD scholarships available at Teagasc in association with national and international universities and institutes of technology.

Peter won the overall award after winning the Animal and Grassland Research and Innovation Programme category.

The winners in the other categories were:

Tara O'Connor is the winner of the Teagasc Crops, Environment and Land Use Programme category. Tara based at the Teagasc Crop Science Department in Oak Park, Co. Carlow. Her research looks at the strengths and weaknesses of the barley immune system and developing durable disease resistance in barley. She is a PhD candidate registered with Maynooth University and funded by Teagasc.


Jie Han is the winner of the Teagasc Food Programme category. Jie based at Teagasc Food Research Centre Moorepark, Co. Cork. Her project focuses on understanding and controlling dairy powder breakage during transportation and production to improve the functionality of dairy powders. Jie Han is a PhD candidate registered with University College Cork and funded by Teagasc. She also received a special award from the Institute of Food Science and Technology Ireland (IFSTI). 

Tracy Bradfield (on the right) is the winner of the Teagasc Rural Economy and Development Programme category. Tracy based at the Agricultural Economics and Farm Surveys Department, Teagasc. She is investigating how land mobility and structure affect farms' economic performance. Tracy is a PhD candidate registered with University College Cork and funded by Teagasc. 

Lisa O’Toole is the winner of the Teagasc Knowledge Transfer Programme category. Lisa is a Teagasc Walsh Scholar based at the Portlaoise Advisory Office, Co. Laois. Her study focuses on developing an understanding of the relationships and methodologies to encourage contract cropping agreements.  Lisa is a postgraduate student registered with University College Dublin (UCD) doing an MSc in Agricultural & Extension Programme with Teagasc and UCD.

Announcing the award winners today, Professor Frank O’Mara, Teagasc Director of Research congratulated all the award winners and the shortlisted Scholars and said “today’s event showcased former and current Walsh Scholars and highlighted the high calibre, talented Scholars coming through the programme who are about to embark on their careers in the agri-food industry”.