Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics
Placeholder image

Teagasc - SRUC Conference 2018 Presentations

14 March 2018
Type Event Proceeding

Teagasc - SRUC Conference 2018 Presentations

A jointly organised conference between SRUC and Teagasc took place in Edinburgh, on Tuesday 13 March, and focussed on how the two organisations, working together, can identify solutions and help create new opportunities for rural economies.

Below are the presentations from the day:

The challenges of change and possible solutions: the New Zealand experience
Dr Liz Wedderburn, Assistant Research Director, AgResearch, New Zealand

The key challenges for change in the rural sector
Professor Ian Boyd, Chief Scientific Adviser at the Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)

Future agricultural policy options for Britain and Ireland
Mr Steven Thomson, Agricultural Economist, SRUC

Brexit potential implications for Ireland’s rural economy
Dr Kevin Hanrahan, Head of Rural Economy & Development Programme, Teagasc

Mr Brendan Gleeson, Assistant Secretary General, Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Ireland
Mr David Barnes, National Adviser on Agriculture Policy, Scottish Government

The Burren Programme: sustainable farming in a high nature value area
Dr Brendan Dunford, Burren Programme Manager, Ireland

Hill farming in Scotland: a fragile farming system?
Prof Davy McCracken, Professor of Agricultural Ecology and Head of Hill & Mountain Research Centre Future Farming Systems

Farming the uplands: where to from here?
Catherine Keena, Countryside Management Specialist, Teagasc

Towards more resilient rural communities: the human dimension
Prof Sarah Skerratt, Rural Policy Centre Director, SRUC

Boom, recession and recovery: impacts and implications for rural economic development
Dr David Meredith, Senior Researcher, Teagasc

Innovation: improving livestock productivity
Professor Eileen Wall, Team Leader, Animal and Veterinary Sciences, SRUC

The role of data in the future of dairy farming
Dr Laurence Shaloo, Principal Researcher, Teagasc

Delivering behavioural change
Professor Dave Roberts, KE Director, SRUC