Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Let's Talk Dairy Webinar Series

Make sure to join each Thursday morning at 10am for timely, relevant and practical advice to allow you make better management decisions on your dairy farm.  Webinar host, Stuart Childs will facilitate the webinars with guest presenters focusing on various topics of interest weekly as well as a lively discussion between attendees and the presenters. There will be an opportunity for you to pose your questions to each week’s presenters. 

To register for the series of Let's Talk Dairy Webinars click below:

 Click on the options below to find out more about upcoming and previous webinars:


Let's Talk Dairy Special Series - Thinking of Dairy Farming?

Get the Basics Right

Stuart Childs, Teagasc Dairy Specialist and Patrick Gowing, Teagasc Dairy Expansion Specialist presented a four part Let's Talk Dairy Special Series which was open to everyone from new entrants to established dairy farmers, whether learning a new skill or honing an existing one. 

Date Topic
Monday, 9 November

New entrant case study - Peter Hamm and Padraig Foley

Monday, 16 November

Understanding EBI and Sourcing the right stock

Monday, 30 November

Grazing infrastructure and reseeding plans  

Monday, 7 December

Farmyard infrastructure design and building a capital budget

Monday, 25 January

Robotics



Let's Talk Dairy Time and People Management Series

Stuart Childs, Teagasc Dairy Specialist will be joined by Marion Beecher, Teagasc; Nollaig Heffernan, Independent Management Consultant and guest farmer participants throughout the Let's Talk Dairy Time and People Management Series. This webinar is run on a Thursday at 10am.

Date Topic
Thursday, 5 November

Making the industry/your farm an attractive place to work

Thursday, 19 November

Working Efficiently

 

Thursday, 3 December
10am

Managing your time to maximum effect

Thursday, 7 January
10am

Using a Yearly Planner to Organise Yourself


Previous Webinars

Date Topic
 Thursday, 26 November

Body Condition

Thursday, 12 November GHG Emissions

 

Thursday, 15 October  Selecting Cows for Selective Dry Cow Therapy

 

 Thursday, 1 October

Teagasc/Glanbia Online Future Farm Walk 
Host Farmer Shane Fitzgerald, Portlaw East, Co. Waterford

Footage from the Virtual Farm Walk, webinar recording & bonus episode of The Dairy Edge Podcast

Thursday, 24 September

Discussion with John Trant (Young Grassland Farmer of the Year) on his career path to date

 

Thursday, 17 September

Teagasc/Dairygold Online Demo Farm Walk
Host farmer Jimmy Cotter, Coachford, Co. Cork

Thursday, 10 September

Derogation and Farm Management Points to Note

 

Thursday, 3 September

Managing Grass and Grass supply right now
John Maher, Teagasc Grass10 Programme Manager

New Entrant to Dairying Course 2020 
Patrick Gowing, Dairy Expansion Service Co-Ordinator, Teagasc

 

Thursday, 13 August

Decisions influencing the end of the breeding season
Presented by George Ramsbottom

 

Thursday, 6 August

Successful Farm Employment - Legal Requirements

Thursday, 30 July

 Smarter Milking Event 
Presented by Padraig O’Connor, Teagasc & Caroline O’Connell, Cahir Physiotherapy Clinic

 

Thursday, 23 July

Autumn Covers
Presented by Fergus Bogue, Teagasc Grass10 

Thursday, 16 July

Clover - A Farmers Perspective
Presented by Fergal Coughlan

 

Thursday, 9 July

Anthelmintic resistance in gut worms of cattle
Presented by Orla Keane

 

Thursday, 2 July

Milk Recording 
Presented by Don Crowley

 

Thursday, 25 June 

Careers in Dairy Farming
Presented by Gordon Peppard

 

Thursday, 18 June

Dairy Farm Financial Outlook and Management Advice for 2020
Patrick Gowing, Teagasc with Tadgh Buckley, AIB

 

Thursday, 11 June

Sustainable Dairy Farming 
Richard O'Brien, Teagasc with Tom & David Fennelly, Teagasc/Glanbia Future Farm Participants
 

 

Thursday, 4 June

Chlorine Free Washing Routines - why and how? 
Presented by David Gleeson

Thursday, 28 May

Using beef bulls on the dairy herd & staying safe with the stock bull

 

Thursday, 21 May

The do’s and don’ts of making quality silage

Thursday, 14 May

Interpreting and managing the grass wedge

Thursday, 7 May

Fitting protected urea into your fertiliser programme and calf weaning tips

 

Monday, 20 April

Getting more cows in calf during the first three weeks of the breeding season (incl. BCS, Metricheck)


Tuesday, 21 April

Tips to maximise conception rate to sexed semen

 

Wednesday, 22 April

Selecting your bull team

 

Thursday, 23 April

Increasing the value of your 2021 calf crop: using the Dairy Beef Index