Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Teagasc Part Time Green Cert Programme

Aim: This course, accredited by QQI, is designed for students that are 23 or over, and want to complete the course on a part time basis.  

Programme: Teagasc Part-time Green Cert Programme

Duration: 2 to 2 ½ years on a part-time basis

Qualifications: Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture 5M20454 and Level 6 Specific Purpose in Farming 6S20487.

Entry Requirements: Applicants must be 23 years of age or older when starting this programme.

Application Process: Enquires should be made locally to Teagasc colleges and centres. Subsequently applications are made online through the Teagasc public website: Apply Online here  

Delivery Locations

Agricultural Colleges and Teagasc Education Centres.


Graduates of the course are eligible to progress to a Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture programme, the Teagasc Higher Education Farm Technician Apprenticeship, or apply for entry to linked courses at Institutes of Technology through the Higher Education Links Scheme.

What will I study?

The course requires in the region of 190 hours direct contact (including classroom sessions, practical skills instruction. The table below shows sample Content for the Teagasc Part Time Green Cert programme (* Choice of module will be at the discretion of the college / centre):

QQI Code Title Level Credits
5N1433 Work Practice (home farm) 5 15
5N20368 Principles of Agriculture 5 15
5N20371 Farm Safety and Farm Assurance 5 15
5N20374 Soils and the Environment 5 10
5N20377 Farm Business and Technology 5 10
5N20380 Safe Use of Pesticide Products 5 5
  Personal Development module* 5 15
  Electives* 5 30
6N1947 Work Practice (home farm) 6 15
6N3005 Farm Performance Measurement 6 5
6N20462 Farm Management and Business Planning 6 10
6N20463 Sustainable Farming in the Environment 6 10
(Applied Livestock Breeding & Grassland Management) or Crop Production Management 6 10