Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Horticulture Courses

Teagasc provides full time and part-time education and training for the horticulture sector.

Aim: To equip the graduate for a career in horticulture or to further develop knowledge and skills in horticulture. There are various job opportunities in the business and service  sectors of the horticultural industry for skilled graduates, as technicians, supervisors or managers. There are also opportunities to progress to higher education programmes through the Higher Education Links Scheme.


Duration: Two years.

Qualifications: These programmes are validated by QQI and lead to a Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture Award (5M2586) and a Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Horticulture (6M4334).

Entry Requirements: Students who have successfully completed the Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture are eligible to apply for a Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Horticulture programme. Applicants with relevant prior learning and/or life experience will also be considered. 

Application Process: The initial application should be made for the Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Horticulture Programme. Enquires should be made locally to Teagasc colleges and centres.  Apply online


This course is currently provided at two Teagasc horticultural colleges:

College of Amenity Horticulture, National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin, Dublin 9

Teagasc Kildalton College, Piltown, Co Kilkenny


Students that complete the Level 5 in Horticulture have the option to progress to a Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Horticulture.