Our Organisation Search
Quick Links
Toggle: Topics

Forestry Grants

Teagasc provides objective and independent information on forestry grants to private landowners 

The Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine provides grants to create new forests and to support owners of existing forests

New Forests

Native Tree Area Scheme

The Native Tree Area Scheme (NTA 1 & 2) supports the creation of small native forests (up to one hectare) on farmed land. An afforestation licence is not required. Both farmers and non-farmers can apply. 

Afforestation Scheme 

The Afforestation Scheme (Overview of forest establishment grant rates) supports the creation of a wide range of forests with varying objectives. An afforestation licence will be required. Both farmers and non-farmers can apply.

Native Forests (Forest Type 1) Other Broadleaves (Forest Type 7) 
Forests for Water (Forest Type 2)  Agroforestry (Forest Type 8) 
Forests on Public Lands (Forest Type 3)  Seed Orchards (Forest Type 9) 
NeighbourWoods (Forest Type 4)  Continuous Cover Forestry (Forest Type 10) 
Emergent Forests (Forest Type 5)  Mixed High Forests with conifers and broadleaves (Forest Type 11) 
Pure Broadleaves - oak or beech (Forest Type 6)        Mixed High Forests with spruce and broadleaves (Forest Type 12)

Additional support measures 

Existing forests

The following support measures are available to better manage an existing forest: 

Useful grants information 

Further information 

Forestry Advice

Do you have forestry questions of a technical nature? Please visit the Advisory section.

Keep in mind that regulations may change over time. Before making an application, please check that you have the most recent information.

Subscribe to our e-newsletter: